Printer Friendly and PDF

Kuala Lumpur: Eight top Asian teams learned their opponents for the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship China 2017 on Friday following the competition's official draw at AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

In Group A, tournament hosts China PR will face 2016 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup champions DPR Korea, Thailand and Uzbekistan.

Meanwhile, Japan will look to defend their title and a chase a fifth AFC U-19 crown when they face Korea Republic - who finished third in 2015 - Australia and Vietnam in Group B.

Each group will play a one-round league, with the top two (2) teams in each group - four (4) teams in total - qualifying for the semi-finals. The two (2) winners of the semi-finals will advance to the final, and and the two (2) losing teams will contest third and fourth place.

The tournament is set to begin on October 18 and conclude a week later in Nanjing, China. 

The top three ranked teams in China will qualify for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup France 2018.

Group A
A1: China PR (Host)
A2: DPR Korea
A3: Thailand  
A4: Uzbekistan

Group B
B1: Japan
B2: Korea Republic
B3: Australia
B4: Vietnam

Photo: AFC