Printer Friendly and PDF

Jakarta: Bhayangkara FC claimed their first league silverware after pipping Bali United on the final day to the Indonesian Liga 1 title on Sunday.

Bhayangkara were holding a three-point advantage at the summit ahead of Bali who were on 65 before Sunday's last round of matches.

Drama ensued on the last day as Bali cruised to a 3-1 win over Persegres Gresik United, while Persija Jakarta fought back to beat Bhayangkara 2-1.

The results meant that both Bali and Bhayangkara finished the season with 68 points but with the latter having 22 wins - one more than Bali - they secured the title.

"It is an amazing result for us, to win it this way. It's a special title. I'm lost for words," said Bhayangkara goalkeeper Awan Setho Raharjo after the Persija match.

Sylvano Dominique Comvalius picked up the Golden Boot, hitting 37 goals for Bali. He became the all-time leading goalscorer surpassing Peri Sandria's record of 34 goals set in 1994, during the Liga Indonesia Premier Division era.

Semen Padang FC, Persiba Balikpapan, and Persegres were relegated to Liga 2.