Printer Friendly and PDF

Yokohama: Gaku Shibasaki was declared the winner of the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2016's Bronze Ball accolade while his club Kashima Antlers claimed the Fair Play Award after the final of the tournament where the spirited J.League champions lost 4-2 to European giants Real Madrid in extra time.

Here's a round-up of all the tournament’s awards.

Golden Ball: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 
As well as lifting the FIFA Club World Cup 2016, Ronaldo was awarded player of the tournament after finding the net four times in two games for Real Madrid. After his side were trailing by one goal against Kashima Antlers in the final, the Portugal frontman inspired his side to victory by netting a hat-trick and tasting Club World Cup success for a third time after previous victories at Japan 2008 with Manchester United and Morocco 2014 with Los Blancos.

Silver Ball: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
The Croatian midfielder played an integral part in the Spanish giants' Japan 2016 triumph, pulling the strings in midfield and offering invaluable support to his team-mates across the park. Modric was named as the Player of the Match for his stand-out performance in Real’s semi-final with Mexican side Club America in Yokohama. 

Bronze Ball: Gaku Shibasaki (Kashima Antlers)
The Japan midfielder scored a brace in the final, firing valiant Kashima Antlers into the lead against Real Madrid and eventually taking the 2016 UEFA Champions League winners all the way to extra time. The 24-year-old was a focal part of Masatada Ishii’s side that made history by becoming the first Asian team to ever reach a FIFA Club World Cup final.  

FIFA Fair Play Award winners: Kashima Antlers
As well as capturing the imagination of supporters by storming from the opening play-off game all the way to the final after victories against Auckland City, Mamelodi Sundowns and Atletico Nacional, J.League champions Kashima Antlers capped off their stunning Japan 2016 journey with the FIFA Fair Play Award.

Sources:, FIFA/Getty Images