Printer Friendly and PDF

Kuala Lumpur: DPR Korea’s Han Un-gyong and Susan Shalabi Molano of Palestine have joined the AFC Executive Committee as Female Members for the East and West Zones respectively following an uncontested election at the AFC Extraordinary Congress on Thursday.

Han and Molano had initially been expected to contest a three-way election for two Female Member seats on the AFC Executive Committee along with Moya Dodd.
But with Dodd being appointed Female Vice President unopposed there was no need for a vote with the Australian also serving as the ASEAN Zone’s Female Exco Member.
The fourth Female Member of the AFC Executive Committee is Bangladesh’s Mahfuza Akhter, who was elected unopposed to the South & Central Zone seat at the 24th AFC Congress in 2011 having been a co-opted member prior to Confederation’s meeting in Qatar.