Printer Friendly and PDF

Kuala Lumpur: Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa has been elected as the new AFC President following Thursday’s election at the AFC Extraordinary Congress.

Sheikh Salman received 33 of the 46 votes to sweep to victory ahead of Thailand’s Worawi Makudi (7 votes) and Yousuf Al Serkal of the UAE (6 votes).
There were initially four candidates for the most important position in the administration of Asian football but this number was reduced to three following the withdrawal of Saudi Arabia’s Dr. Hafez Ibrahim Al Medlej on the eve of the Extraordinary Congress.
Shaikh Salman’s term in office will run for two year’s until the next AFC Congress in 2015.